CBP Expands Global Entry to Republic of Korea, Germany, Qatar, United Kingdom

U.S. Customs and Border Protection published a Federal Register notice on August 9, 2013, expanding eligibility for participation in Global Entry to citizens from the Republic of Korea, Germany, Qatar, and the United Kingdom. Those participating in Korea’s Smart Entry System (SES), Germany’s Automated and Biometrics-Supported Border Controls (ABG) Plus, and select Qatar and United Kingdom citizens may be able to receive Global Entry benefits. 

Additionally, the Federal Register notice announces the ability for current U.S. Global Entry members to apply for membership in the Republic of Korea’s SES program, and for a limited number to apply for Germany’s ABG Plus program. 

Global Entry kiosks are available at 34 U.S. airports and 10 CBP preclearance locations in Ireland and Canada that serve 98 percent of all incoming air travelers. To become a member of Global Entry, interested individuals must fill out an online application, pay the $100 application fee, undergo a background investigation, and complete an interview with a CBP officer at a Trusted Traveler enrollment center, which includes submission of fingerprints. Upon approval, membership is valid for five years. 

CBP noted that Global Entry “allows pre-approved, low-risk travelers the ability to bypass traditional CBP screening and use and automated kiosk to complete their entry into the U.S. upon arrival.”

The notice is available HERE.

The Federal Register notice is available HERE.

Scroll to Top